BJU Sends Out Two New Fundraising Letters as Financial Situation Deteriorates

It looks like the dire words of warning about BJU’s financial outlook from its previous President are holding true under the current President.

BJU issued this week not one but two new fundraising letters to select graduates, the details of which have been provided to BJU News by a kind tipster. The first letter asks grads to contribute to the school’s Scholarship Fund; gifts which will, the letter says, be matched by “The Board” up to $500,000. New school President Steve Pettit employs the scare tactics and questionable logic that have been the hallmark of BJU promotional materials for nearly 100 years. Here’s the letter in five pictures:

The second letter, which we published earlier today to lengthy discussion on our Facebook and Twitter pages, concerns the Museum and Gallery. It has apparently recently had the misfortune of losing one of its major donors, and BJU is asking graduates to pick up the slack–to the tune of $300,000. Read below:

10410146_797280173644167_4142837605949471107_n

Now, there’s certainly nothing unusual about a school asking for donations from its constituency, and anyone affiliated with BJU can tell you that the school has a long history of tracking down addresses in order to send out letters like these (even if it sometimes forgets to inform the same people of its public scandals via these methods). But taken in context of recent revelations about the University’s indulgent spending on flashy events and activities, and combined with the constant undertone of worry about enrollment, these kinds of donation requests now take on a different tone. It remains to be seen how the outcome of the GRACE investigation (in just three weeks) will impact these issues.

9 thoughts on “BJU Sends Out Two New Fundraising Letters as Financial Situation Deteriorates

  1. Anonymous Coward

    Lol, too lazy to troubleshoot Silent Sender.
    “BJU to complete employee background checks” article from Accord Vol. 10, No. 3, Nov. 19, 2014. Worth the read! Sounds like they’re taking a right step.
    /delete

  2. lawburr

    When I was a BJU (early 80’s) due to their top notch restoration lab the museum was a profit center. They would buy paintings restore them and sell them for a profit. Sometimes quite a large profit.

  3. John Matzko

    I regularly get the same sort of letters from the University of Virginia. The big difference is that you have to add a zero or two behind the sort of money they’re asking for.

    1. A. James

      The scholarship fund letter made me LAUGH. It looked just like one of those political contribution mailings…underlines, ALL CAPS, drama… I just don’t know what to say any more, so I just laugh.

  4. Another Anonymous Coward

    I got this letter to. I think John is wrong. Not about the fact that places send out fundraising letters although I doubt most of them are as slimy and manipulitive as this one.

    My big problem with this letter and I didn’t catch it until the day after I first read it was that to me the last page that is the response form for the donation is misleading. I don’t think everyone will see that most donations don’t go to the tax exempt fund but that’s what it looks like to me. I explained more on bruin core. Look at the second comment.

    http://thebruincore.wordpress.com/2014/11/22/thankful-and-encouraged/#comments

  5. baldjonesgrad

    It’s much better to take the homeless from the rescue mission to see our priceless art collection than to invest in their lives by giving to the rescue mission; or by lobbying for funding for more addiction counseling services; or for funding for transitional housing to get them off the street and on the path to sobriety.

    Give to BJU because they are so wonderful and have stooped to let the unwashed masses see their art that has a spiritual narrative. Wow! Where do I sign up?

    “…for I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I was homeless and you let me see your art.” Matt. 25:35, BJU translation.

Comments are closed.